Internet Banking Loan Moratorium USD Booking Merchant Portal

Customer Service





Bank of Maldives

Board of Directors

Timothy Sawyer

Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director
(Non-Independent, Executive Director)

Mr. Timothy Sawyer is the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of the Bank. He has over 30 years of international experience in financial services, including 20 years at Executive and Board level. Prior to joining Bank of Maldives, he was the Chief Investment Officer at Innovate UK, the investment arm of the UK Government. 

Prior to Innovate UK, Mr. Sawyer was the CEO of Start Up Loans, where for his services to the UK industry in developing small businesses and entrepreneurs, was awarded Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE) by Queen Elizabeth.

Mr. Sawyer has also had the honor of leading several financial institutions including Cahoot and Kent Reliance, and was the Chairman at Banque Dubois of Switzerland as well as Folk2Folk, a lending organization based in UK.

Mr. Sawyer holds first class honors in Master of Arts in History from the University of Oxford, UK. He is an Associate of Chartered Institute of Bankers.

Mr. Sawyer has no shares in the Bank.

Sana Mansoor

(Independent, Non-Executive Director)

Ms. Sana Mansoor is a Managing Partner at FJS Associates LLP. Ms. Sana worked at the State Trading Organisation Plc (STO) from 1988 to 2013. The last position she held at STO Plc was the Chief Financial Officer. 

Ms. Sana has held a number of leadership positions, including Executive Board Director at State Trading Organization Plc, Chairperson of Allied Insurance Company of the Maldives Pvt Ltd, Board Director at Maldives Stock Exchange, Maldives Securities Depository Pvt Ltd and Maldives Structural Products Pvt Ltd. 

Ms. Sana is the current Chairperson of the Bank’s Appointment and Remuneration Committee. Ms. Sana holds a Bachelor of Commerce Degree from Griffith University, Australia. She is also a Certified Practicing Accountant (Australia) and a Licensed Auditor by the Auditor General’s Office.

Ms. Sana has no shares in the bank.

Juwairiya Saeed

(Non-Independent, Non-Executive Director)

Ms. Juwairiya Saeed is the Co-Founder and Executive Director at FJS Consulting Pvt Ltd. Ms. Juwairiya is also the current Chairperson of Cancer Society of Maldives. 

Ms. Juwairiya has served as a Director at a number of Government shareholding companies, including Island Aviation Pvt. Ltd., Maldives Islamic Bank and Maldives Ports Authority. She has also served as an Independent Director of Centurion Plc, Chairperson of Dhiraagu Plc, Privatization Committee Member at the President’s Office and Director of Public Enterprise Monitoring and Evaluation at the Ministry of Finance. 

Since 2007, Ms. Juwairiya has provided financial consultancy and worked as a financial advisor in numerous Government projects in Maldives. Some of these projects include the Maldives Environmental Management Project, Maldives Global Climate Change Project and the Rapid Assessment of Water and Sanitation Status in Maldives Project by World Bank. 

Ms. Juwairiya holds a Master’s of Arts with Distinction in Business with Financial Management from Northumbria University, UK, and a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Western Australia. 

Ms. Juwairiya has 100 shares in the Bank.

Najeem Ibrahim Zakariyya

(Independent, Non-Executive Director)

Mr. Najeem Ibrahim Zakariyya has over 9 years’ experience in different industries of the private sector. At present he is the General Manager and Chief Consultant at Shinetree Holding Pvt. Ltd. Mr. Najeem provides advisory services in tourism, start-up funding, personal finance, wealth planning and investment. In addition, Mr. Najeem was also an Assistant Lecturer at the Maldives College of Higher Education (National University), teaching Finance and Accounting subjects to Bachelor’s Degree and Diploma level students.

Mr. Najeem Ibrahim holds a Master’s Degree in Applied Finance and a Bachelor’s Degree in Banking and Finance from the Monash University, Australia.

Mr. Najeem Ibrahim has no shares in the Bank.

Hawwa Safna

(Independent, Non-Executive Director)

Ms. Hawwa Safna is, at present, the Chief Funds Executive at the Ministry of Finance where she is the government executive responsible for the enforcement of the Public Finance Regulation. Ms. Safna has extensive experience in financial management having previously worked at the Capital Market Development Authority as a Market Development Expert in addition to various positions at the Ministry of Finance.

Ms. Safna is the current Chairperson of the Bank’s Nomination Committee. She holds a Master of Business Administration with Finance Majors from INTI International University, Malaysia and a Master of Arts from University of Hertfordshire, United Kingdom.

Ms. Safna has no shares in the Bank.

Hussain Thoufeeq Ali

(Non-Independent, Non-Executive Director)

Mr. Hussain Thoufeeq Ali has been the Managing Director at Silver Sands Pvt. Ltd since 2008. Prior to being appointed as Managing Director at Silver Sands Pvt. Ltd, Mr. Thoufeeq Ali served the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for over 13 years. The last position held by him at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs was Director General.

Mr. Thoufeeq Ali was a Board Director at the Maldives Tourism Development Corporation Plc.

Mr. Thoufeeq Ali holds a Bachelor of Human Science (Political Science) honors degree from the International Islamic University of Malaysia, and a Postgraduate Level Certificate in Diplomatic Studies from the University of Oxford.

Mr. Thoufeeq Ali has no shares in the Bank.

Mohamed Abdul Sattar

(Independent, Non-Executive Director)

Mr. Mohamed Abdul Sattar is Managing  Director of Coco Huts Pvt. Ltd. He was first elected to the Board of Directors of the Bank by public shareholders in 2004, and has served on the Board as both a Director appointed by the Government and elected by shareholders. 

Mr. Sattar holds a Master of Business Administration degree from University of Wales, United Kingdom. 

Mr. Sattar has 2,770 shares in the Bank.

Ibrahim Mohamed

(Independent, Non-Executive Director)

Mr. Ibrahim Mohamed is the Executive Director of NPH Investment Pvt. Ltd. and NPH Developments Pvt. Ltd. He has served on the Board both as a Government appointed Director as well as a director elected by the shareholders. 

A finance and tourism sector professional, Mr. Ibrahim currently serves on the Boards of several companies. 

Mr. Ibrahim is the current Chairperson of  the Bank’s Audit and Risk Management Committee. Mr. Ibrahim holds a Higher National Diploma in Business and Finance (Tourism) from South Glamorgan Institute of Higher Education (Cardiff Metropolitan University), United Kingdom and a postgraduate degree in Tourism from University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom. 

Mr. Ibrahim holds 960 shares in the Bank.

Ahmed Mohamed

(Independent, Non-Executive Director)

Mr. Ahmed Mohamed served as the  Ambassador of Maldives to India from 2015 to 2018. Mr. Ahmed was also the Minister of Economic Development from 2012 – 2013. Prior to being elected to this position, he also served as the Chief Executive Officer of State Trading Organization Plc. 

Mr. Ahmed served the Bank from 2008 – 2012 as a member of the Board. He also served as Chairman of the Board in STO Plc, Maldives Oil Company, Fuel Supply Maldives and Allied insurance. He has further been engaged as a member of the Board in Dhivehi Ekuweri Kunfuni Plc, Hulhumale’ Development Corporation, Island Aviation Services Limited and Maldives Ports Authority. 

Mr. Ahmed holds a First Class Honors Bachelor’s degree in Engineering Sciences and a Master’s degree in Economics (Public Policy) from the University of Hull, UK. 

Mr. Ahmed holds 30 shares in the Bank.